Vegan Taco Mac & Cheese - Low Fat/Soy/Dairy Free Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Taco Mac & Cheese – Low Fat/Soy Free

Vegan Taco Mac & Cheese - Low Fat/Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

I think this recipe took about 40 minutes to make one I wrapped my head around how to execute getting everything done. This recipe is amazing. In the video you may see that I make a huge amount of the vegan taco meat. I can eat a lot in one sitting. I made a smaller portion of vegan cheese in the video but I’ll have the full portion listed out below. I think the avocado really rounded out the dish. A dash of lime would have been awesome. Mark busted out the hot sauce (not pictured). I would highly recommend adding homemade Mango Salsa! The vegan taco meat will be about 4 small servings. The vegan cheese will be a whole blender full.

VEGAN CHEESE: 3 med potatoes, 2 long carrots, water, salt, onion & garlic powder, 1 lime, oil optional

  1. Boil or Steam 2 cups of peeled potatoes & 1 cup carrots
  2. Put cooked veggies in blender with 1/2 cup of water. Blend!
  3. Add 1-2 ts salt, 1/4 ts garlic powder. 1/4 ts onion powder & 1 TB citrus juice (I just used a whole lime)
  4. Add either 3 TB of oil OR water. Blend!
  5. Add 1/2 cup nutritional flakes. Blend! Add tiny amounts of water if it’s too thick to blend.

VEGAN TACO MEAT: 1/2 cup dry rice (90 grams), water,  1/2 of 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 1 TB chili powder, 1 ts cumin, sprinkle of oregano, onion & garlic powder, red pepper flakes & salt

  1. I weighed 90 grams of dry rice in a pot. I added about 3/4 cup of water. As soon as water boiled I put a lid on it and turned the temp down to “2” on the stove. I set a timer for 17 minutes and didn’t take the lid off til then.
  2. I then added half of the large can of crushed tomatoes. Goal was simply to coat the rice without making it soupy.
  3. I added  1 TB chili powder, 1 ts cumin, sprinkle of oregano, onion & garlic powder, salt & red pepper flakes. Mix well.

Pour vegan cheese sauce on cooked pasta, top with vegan taco meat and garnish with avocado, cilantro and tomatoes! ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch my video below. Chz recipe was inspired by Veggie on a Penny.

7 thoughts on “Vegan Taco Mac & Cheese – Low Fat/Soy Free

  1. I don’t buy nooch any more. It costs a fortune here and I have to import it from the mainland (so extra postage) so I just improvise with other ingredients. I have found jarred fermented chilli bamboo strips that have a truly cheesy flavour so I blend those suckers up and add them to recipes that I want to have cheesy taste and I use miso, lemon juice etc. to replicate cheeze flavours.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup. We are a no nooch zone here. It costs $20 for a small packet and we have to add in $10 postage to that so $30 for nooch? Nope! I would rather spend my $30 on cashews (that are $40+ a kilo here). You Americans really don’t realise how lucky you have it. Your base ingredients are SO much cheaper than ours and most of what you guys think is normal over there is simply not available here at all. I guess it makes us more innovative and we have to make most of what we want ourselves so I guess that’s a good thing really.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That just blows my mind. I bought a huge bag for $3. Every time you say stuff like that I just want to send you a massive care package of goodies. For real.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I guess it teaches me to be more innovative. I think there are many ways to replicate that tasty cheesy taste and fermentation is the key. I might have to start mucking around with my kombucha to see if I can’t do ‘something’ with some base ingredient to make it cheezy. I love a good experiment 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

