Classic American Breakfast - Eggs, Bacon, Potatoes, Toast (Soy Free) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Classic American Breakfast – Eggs, Bacon, Potatoes, Toast (Soy Free)

Classic American Breakfast - Eggs, Bacon, Potatoes, Toast (Soy Free) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

This vegan all American breakfast is legit. While the scrambled eggs aren’t the traditional egg flavor they are so delicious. This round of mushroom bacon came out the best! I did use vegan butter and strawberry jam for the toast but you could make cinnamon “butter” with brown sugar. I definitely plan to make more “egg” dishes in the future using chickpea flour. So good!!! This could have been an omelet had I used less veggies in the skillet.

1/3 cup chickpea/gram flour (45 grams), 1/3 cup water, 1/4 ts baking powder, chopped onions, zucchini, mushrooms, potatoes, sliced mushrooms, liquid smoke, oil, 1 TB brown sugar, salt, paprika, toast (butter &/or jam)

  1. Cube potatoes to bake home fries. I cut 400 grams of potatoes and mixed with 2 ts oil. Sprinkle with salt and bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.
  2. Slice mushrooms to make vegan bacon. I cut 4 slices and drizzled 1 ts of oil on top. Then sprinkled salt, 1 TB brown sugar, 1 ts liquid smoke & a few sprinkles of paprika (just for color). Ideally you’d bake it at 350 for 30-40 minutes while flipping it once. Since I cooked these with the potatoes at 400 degrees I flipped them once after 15 minutes. Since they were pretty dried out I only put them back in the over for 5 minutes.
  3. Chop some onion and saute in oil & salt. Add chopped mushroom and zucchini with salt. Prepare the chickpea “egg” batter.
  4. Whisk 1/3 cup of chickpea flour with 1/4 ts of baking powder, a dash of salt & equal parts water. If too thick add  1 or 2 TB of water. Pour on sauteed veggies once they’re soft. Let batter cook like a pancake  then scramble it all together.
  5. Bust out some toast and plate everything together. ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch my video below. Vegan scrambled egg recipe was inspired by Sketch Free Vegan Eating.

4 thoughts on “Vegan Classic American Breakfast – Eggs, Bacon, Potatoes, Toast (Soy Free)

    1. I was considering posting a video about it but it would not be at all what anyone would expect.

      I was vegan for 9 years. I’m not longer vegan but it’s so hard wired in my brain to turn any standard recipe into a vegan recipe. When we first started making recipe videos and I was doing meat videos it was boring me to tears. I love making vegan recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Melanie, I love your videos. As usual, this looks delicious. I’m not vegan or even vegetarian, but I’m trying to find tasty and nutritious alternatives to eating meals including meat and dairy as I’ve realized too much animal products isn’t healthful and want to start eating them less often. I’ve looked into many different diets, and have concluded a high plant based diet is the way to go for optimal health, in my opinion. It will be a journey, transforming my diet to a healthier one, but with creative individuals such as yourself posting videos on you tube, teaching how to make delicious looking food with plant based ingredients to inspire me, I’m very encouraged. I look forward to your videos, wondering what you’ll come up with next, and I also enjoy your banter with Mark. I wanted to let you know I appreciate what you’re doing, And I hope you’ll keep up the good work. Many thanks from a fellow Texan 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

