Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Chickpea Cookie Dough, Bean "Meatball" Angel Hair, Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies, Buddha Bowl - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan What I Eat In A Day – $6 Budget (3#)

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Chickpea Cookie Dough, Bean "Meatball" Angel Hair, Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies, Buddha Bowl - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

I’ve estimated the cost for all of the meals being $6.07 total! The price only includes that amount actually used in the recipe (like a portion of oil) instead of the total cost to buy everything (like a whole bottle of oil). I bought a bunch of stuff from aldi.

Breakfast: 2 Ingredient Breakfast Cookies

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies - 2 Ingredients - Gluten Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Do not think I’ve lost my mind by calling these AMAZING breakfast cookies “2 ingredients”. They’re called 2 ingredient cookies because they’re made with banana and oatmeal. The extras or add ins are not part of the numerical title. I LOVE adding raisins (or any dried fruit) and cinnamon. I’ve also made double chocolate chip bars from an identical recipe. I’m very much addicted to these.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies -  2 Ingredients - Gluten Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1.5 large bananas (232 grams) 30 CENTS, 80 grams oatmeal 10 CENTS (1 cup), tiny 1 oz box of raisins 30 CENTS, 1/2 ts cinnamon 3 CENTS = 73 CENTS TOTAL

  1. Mash bananas then mix in everything else
  2. Spray cookie sheet with oil
  3. Place tablespoon sized amounts of the dough on the cookie sheet
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or so. ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch the video below. This recipe was inspired by The Burlap Bag.

Lunch: Buddha Bowl

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Buddha Bowl - Chickpeas, Broccoli, Sweet Potato, Tahini - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

I was debating if I should actually use a bowl for this Buddha Bowl. I didn’t eat all of this since I kept going back for more breakfast cookies throughout the day. If you like kale I highly recommend this Buddha Bowl I made a while back. It blew my mind. It was just like this but with kale instead of broccoli.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Buddha Bowl - Chickpeas, Broccoli, Sweet Potato, Tahini - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1 can of chickpeas 69 CENTS, Indian spices (tumeric, coriander, chili poweder, mustard seed, etc) 10 CENTS, bag of frozen broccoli (I used 12 oz) $1.69, sweet potato 22 CENTS (I used 100 grams), 1 TB tahini 20 CENTS, 1 lime or lemon 10 CENTS, salt, oil 10 CENTS = $3.10 TOTAL

  1. Drain and rinse chickpeas. In a dry skillet roast the chickpeas on  low/med heat with a sprinkle of different spices and salt. Stir beans around the skillet until herbs smell awesome.
  2. Slice sweet potatoes and cook with a litle bit of oil. Bake for 38 minutes at 400 or grill on a Foreman grill for 10 minute!
  3. Cook broccoli
  4. Mix 1 TB tahini with juice from a lemon or lime. Add a tiny amount of hot water. Mix in spices.
  5. Plate everything. ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch the video below.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Bean "Meatball" Angel Hair - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Lunch: Vegan Bean Meatballs with Spinach + Angel Hair Pasta

Even though this was only 2 oz of pasta this was a good amount of food once bulking this up with bean meatballs and spinach. I LOVE spinach in pasta sauce. I think it tastes cheesy but I’ve never heard anyone say that so……. Feel free to make more pasta and larger amounts of the sauce.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Bean "Meatball" Angel Hair - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1 serving of refried beans (100 grams) 23 CENTS, 1/4-1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs 30 CENTS (I use Whole Foods brand), oil 10 CENTS,  2 oz angel hair 12 CENTS, 1 serving pasta sauce 20 CENTS (125 grams), 80 grams frozen chopped spinach 12 CENTS, any extra herbs for flavor 10 CENTS = $1.17 TOTAL

  1. Mash refried beans with most of the bread crumbs. Keep adding more until the mixture is dry enough roll into bean balls. More bread crumbs will make sure it’s less gummy but too much can completely dry them out. Roll them into balls then coat them by rolling the balls into bread crumbs.
  2. Put .5 TB oil in a skillet and brown the vegan meatballs on each side at med/low heat. I cracked some fennel over the skillet to add flavor.
  3. Put pasta sauce and spinach in a bowl. Microwave for 2-3  minutes.
  4. Cook pasta then add spinach sauce. Top with vegan meatmalls. ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch the video below.

Snack: Cookie Dough Banana Ice Cream (Gluten Free)

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Chickpea Cookie Dough Banana Ice Cream - Gluten Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

When planning this banana ice cream dish I totally remembered that I had some Vegan Chickpea Cookie Dough left over. I froze little pieces of dough since it’s too mushy to hold shape otherwise. This was my first time freezing banana ice cream just for the sake of being able to scoop it on camera. Freezing it made it a bit icey so I’m not recommending doing that. Just eat it directly after proccessing. The cookie dough bits and chocolate chips make me keep eating til the lone wolf mug (from our esty shop) was empty.

Below is the full recipe for the chickpea cookie dough but only a tiny amount is actually needed for the vegan ice cream.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Budget (3#) - Chickpea Cookie Dough Banana Ice Cream - Gluten Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Banana Ice Cream: 2 bananas 35 CENTS (240 grams), cinnamon 5 CENTS & water

Chickpea Cookie Dough: 1 can chickpeas 69 CENTS, minimum 4 TB liquid sweetener 75 CENTS, minimum 4 TB nut butter 84 CENTS and as many chocolate chips as you’d like 40 CENTS = 2.68 WHOLE BATCH / 67 CENTS amount used in vegan ice cream 

Total cost: $1.07

  1. Make chickpea cookie dough the night before. Put everything in the food processor except the chocolate chips. Process til smoothie. Taste to see if it needs more sweetener or more fat. *Expect a chickpea flavor at this point but know it goes away after chilling in the fridge (I chilled mine overnight). Top with chocolate chips.
  2. Freeze a couple small spoon fulls of dough in the freezer
  3. Chop bananas up then freeze overnight
  4. Put frozen bananas in the food processor. Process til it’s ground up then add a tiny amount of cold water & a dash of cinnamon. Blend more til it’s smooth like ice cream.
  5. Top with chunks of frozen chickpea cookie dough & pieces of chocolate chips. ENJOY

For more details on this recipe watch the video below.

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Here’s more of my What I Eat In A Day posts. Video of todays feast below.

8 thoughts on “Vegan What I Eat In A Day – $6 Budget (3#)

    1. The way I make my food I bet you could take the oil out of 99% of my recipes and they would still work. You’d likely need to bake instead of cooking it in oil like the bean meatballs. I bet baking them would work great. Also I’d recommend getting a thrift store foreman grill since you can cook everything on there without oil and in a fraction of the time. I think grilled (oil free) veggies and potatoes taste better than boiled (or stir fry) with water. https://richbitchcooking.wordpress.com/2016/11/12/10-veggie-hacks-3-vegan-recipe-george-foreman-vegetables/

      Like

Leave a Reply

