4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes – LCHF

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Dear Tim Ferriss,
These recipes are for you. Slow carb, low carb motherfccker.
PEEEEACE!

This post was inspired from my chit chat in the comment section with Claudia. Almost all of our recipes are “carbed the fuck up” (that phrase makes my eyez bleed). So to make something that LCHF folks can enjoy I threw together this recipe compilation. And more LCHF recipes to come in the future.

Claudia’s story is super epic: “I ate a low-fat (no more than 10%), moderate-protein (15-20%), high-carb (70% plus) diet and gained more and more weight. I ended up getting type 2 diabetes. Even though I followed all the guidelines typically suggested to diabetics, I ended up having to take stronger and stronger medication to control my blood sugar levels. I restrict my carbs to no more than 10% and get most of my calories from fat. I was able to go off my diabetes medication from the very first day — no joke, it was a freaking miracle.  I have also lost weight.”

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms

Easy & Lazy. You could put yourself out by making some homemade hippie version of vegan cream cheese. I like daiya to do the work for me. The sun dried tomatoes that I used were not rock hard. They were easy to chop up. Maybe soak your sun dried tomatoes if yours are dry as fuck.

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1 lb small mushrooms, 1/2 container vegan cream cheese (I used daiya), 1 oz sun dried tomatoes, salt (you could made homemade vegan cream cheese with cashews, lemon juice, salt and water)

  1. Remove stems from mushrooms. Sprinkle with salt. Bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees. You don’t want these too mushy or too raw. Just cooked long enough to soften.
  2. Remove from oven and pour out any water that collected inside the mushrooms. Dry the mushrooms inside and out. Let mushrooms cool.
  3. Mix 1/2 container of vegan cream cheese with 1 oz chopped sun dried tomatoes. Stuff filling in the mushrooms. ENJOY

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Thai Curry

This recipe is insane. I’ve made this in the past with rice noodles but found this epic with just veggies. I think this is creamy and cheesy but I don’t know if anyone else would say the same.

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1 can coconut milk (I used Trader Joe’s coconut cream can), 5 ts red curry paste (tiny jar shown in the video below), a little less than 1/2 ts turmeric powder, 1 TB oil, 1/4 red bell pepper, yellow squash, bean sprouts, lime, salt, cilantro

  1. Cube squash up and mix with 1 TB oil. Slice red bell pepper and coat in left over oil. Sprinkle with salt and bake at 375 for 30 minutes or until bell peppers start to brown on the tips.
  2. Heat can of coconut milk up with 5 ts red curry paste. Mix in turmeric powder.
  3. Once veggies are done baking pour curry sauce in the bowl and place squash in the middle. Top squash with bean sprouts and roasted bell pepper. Squeeze lime on top and garnish with cilantro. ENJOY

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Lettuce Wraps

I found Beyond Meat Beastly Sliders at the fancy food store. Expensive as fuck but low carb, soy free and decent protein! You could make homemade patties with mushrooms and nuts. I should make a LCHF vegan burger recipe soon. Vegan cream cheese can be made with all hippie ingredients if you want something unprocessed. Cashews, lime, salt and water should get you there.

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

veggie burgers, 1 oz vegan cream cheese, 1/4 avocado, red bell pepper, shredded lettuce and 1 collard green leaf

  1. Cook vegan burger patties
  2. Remove the largest parts of the stem from the collard green leaf
  3. Put a bottom layer of vegan cream cheese. Put burger on top then add avocado slices, red bell pepper slices then shredded lettuce. Roll and ENJOY

4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Tofu and Cabbage

If I wasn’t allergic to soy I would eat tofu often. Pan fried tofu is the best. I used coconut aminos but for simplicity sake I’ll just say I used soy sauce.
4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes - LCHF - Thai Curry, Burger Wraps, Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms, Tofu and Cabbage -Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1/2 brick tofu (I used trader joes very firm, extra protein), as much cabbage as you want, soy sauce, sesame seed oil, couple slices of red bell pepper, ginger, onion & garlic powder, salt, white and black sesame seeds for garnish

  1. Put small amounts of oil in a skillet and cook sliced tofu on medium heat for 10 minutes or until golden. Add soy sauce to help brown it while cooking.
  2. Chop cabbage and grate ginger. Mix with sesame seed oil and a dash of onion and garlic powder. Mix in salt and red bell pepper. Cook til cabbage is starts to soften.
  3. Plate veggies and tofu. Top with sesame seeds. ENJOY

For more details on these recipes watch my video below

12 thoughts on “4 Vegan Low Carb Recipes – LCHF

  1. Thank you so much!!! I can’t wait to try these recipes! Am currently off LCHF for Christmas but feel crummy as a result, so I’m actually not dreading going back to living with all the food restrictions because the health trade-off is HUGE. Actually, I’m looking forward to it since I’m tired of being tired.

    The recipes look delish and really healthy to boot. Without plugging the ingredients into MyFitnessPal, my guess is that I’ll need to amp up the fat content — the biggest mental adjustment for me, since I was always taught fat was bad, bad, bad! — since that’s my main source of calories.

    I will make every single one of the recipes next week, take photos of everything, and share any tweaks I make (spoiler alert: more fat, ergo more oil, avocado, cream cheese, etc.) — thanks for the ideas and inspiration, am THRILLED to hear you’re planning to do more LCHF stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!!! I’m looking forward to seeing your versions! Definitely want all the details.

      I really like that you’ve taken a break from your ideal way of eating for the holidays. I think being flexible is a sign of longevity. If you can walk away (even for a meal) and come back then you’re good. At least this is how I think of balance.

      I used to be 100% all of the time for 14 years +. Now I’m allergic to healthy eating as a result. Granted I’m an extreme person in general so I wouldn’t classify my history as a template.

      Like

      1. To be honest, I’m like you — I tend to be all or nothing. In this particular case, because diabetes can lead to blindness and other horrible health problems, it’s better for me to revert to type. I have been eating carbs like crazy lately and my blood sugar levels are so high that I’ve had to go back on the diabetes medication. (Moderation is sadly not in my nature. At all.) Once I go back to eating LCHF, I’m going to have to be strict with myself because I have no choice 😦

        In other areas of life, I do strive for balance. Years ago, I saw a quote that really resonated with me: There’s no such thing as a happy perfectionist. I’m not sure who said it, but wow. TRUTH.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dude, you totally put that in perspective for me! Blindness and other health problems are no joke and I wasn’t thinking of it so point blankly so thank you.

        I have had a lot of loss in my life in just a short about of time 2015-2016. Not to mention a very serious surgery for an in-law which lead to complication. Health problems break my heart so let’s all do our best to avoid that!

        Like

  2. I’m so sorry that you’ve recently had such loss in your life. I really hope that things will be better for you in 2017. Take comfort and pride in knowing that you and Mark set an amazing example by cooking from scratch and eating lots of veggies and beans — that’s something most people don’t do, but could avoid so many health problems if they did.

    Replying to your post yesterday made me realize how reckless I was being. Normal blood sugar levels should be between 4.0 and 7.0 upon waking, but this morning’s reading was 15.9 ON MEDICATION. The last time I measured a few days ago and decided to go back on medication so I could enjoy my holiday carbs, it was several points lower.

    So, I’m ditching the meds and hopping back on the LCHF wagon a few days ahead of schedule. I’m going to kick it off with a day or two of fasting — up to a week is fine and would probably be best given how high my blood sugar levels are right now, but I don’t know if I have enough willpower for that — where I consume nothing but water and coffee with unsweetened almond milk (the brand I use is net zero carbs).

    I’m going to go through my fridge, freezer, and cupboards to get rid of any temptations. Then I’m going to make a meal plan for the upcoming week and write up a grocery list (which will be easy thanks to you, since I’ll be making the meals you came up with). There’s no point in making the transition back to LCHF harder on myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Overall were in a good. When I was younger I lived in an awful and dark mood a lot of the time. Life wasn’t perfect but it was so simple back then. Now I’m older and have a much more complex life. Even with all of the loss it somehow creates the contrast that makes life seem better. Like shit could go down at any minute so I’m going to be grateful while I can.

      Do you think you’ll need a low carb lifestyle to avoid medication forever? I would imagine that your body gets back to regulating itself at some point but I really have no idea.

      At least “healthy” eating (I hate that word) has wide range of flavors. A earthy Indian flavors, refreshing fresh herbs, spicy dried herbs, etc. food is such an experience.

      Like

  3. Yeah, spices are a godsend! I can still have lots of those, which makes eating LCHF so much easier. Plus cauliflower is a pretty good substitute for rice as well as mashed potatoes, two high-carb foods I love.

    The A1C blood test provides a three-month average of a person’s blood sugar levels. Once I get my AIC below 5.7, I might be able to raise my daily quota of net carbs but I’ll have to experiment with that.

    My guess is that I will always have to watch what I eat, which is a drag but not the end of the world — I’m super grateful that type 2 diabetes can be reversed solely through dietary changes, no meds required. To put that into perspective, a friend’s father has MS and is getting steadily worse despite taking a ton of meds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m totally root for you. I’m confident you’ll make major progress before you know it! It’s kind of cool that you get to do experiments on yourself to that have tangible results. No one can tell you anything with 100% certainty (food gurus) but your body will confirm it all. I love it!

      You’re pumping me up to want to eat healthier. (trigger word, ha ha ha)

      I hear ya about your friend’s father. That’s got to be tough.

      Like

      1. Thanks, I really appreciate the support and encouragement!! A lot of people think of LCHF as a fad diet, but all I can say is that it works for me in a big way. It’s not for everyone, but for sure something anyone with insulin resistance or diabetes should at least try.

        This morning’s blood sugar reading was 12.4 — that’s 2.5 points lower than yesterday morning! Yeah, it is cool being able to see actual evidence of the impact lifestyle changes can have on my body. That said, I was super grumpy and hungry yesterday and ended up going to bed early just to end the day sooner. Some people find it easy to fast, but I’m not one of them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

