Vegan What I Eat In A Day – $6 Budget – Italian (#8)

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

This wicked cheap day of eating was $6 according to the title but really it was only $4.75. The cheap Mexican food store was selling medium sized red bell pepper 3 for $1. I figured if I used cheap ass bell pepper math some folks would lose their shit. Like anomalies should not be treated like the norm. Ya know what, I agree so let’s all pretend that I paid full price. I was more committed to making a cheap nice cream smoothie bowl then making an Italian breakfast so the carob breakfast may seem out of place. And that’s okay!

Video of me making everything at the bottom!

Vegan Carob Banana Nice Cream Smoothie Bowl - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

Vegan Carob Banana Ice Cream Smoothie Bowl (with a life time supply of sprinkles)

Not my fanciest smoothie bowl but I loved it! You could use cocoa powder instead if you want. I did go a bit heavy handed with the agave, more so than usual so I split this with my husband. I love chocolate so why do I prefer rainbow sprinkles over the chocolate ones? This cost $2.09 to make!

Vegan Carob Banana Nice Cream Smoothie Bowl - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

2 frozen chopped bananas (240 grams), 2 TB carob powder (30 grams), 3 TB agave (60 grams), dash of cold water, sprinkles

  1. Mix 1.5 TB agave with 1 TB carob powder to make carob syrup
  2. In a food processor process 2 frozen chopped bananas with 1 TB carob and 1.5 TB agave. Add a dash of cold water to help smooth it out.
  3. Pour banana ice cream in a bowl. Add syrup on top and a life time supply of sprinkles.

Vegan Roasted Red Pepper Pasta - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

Vegan Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

I was debating adding this recipe to the 9 Vegan Pasta Dish video I made but ended up wussing out. It was thinking, “too many steps”. But I was inspired today so I busted out Minimalist Bakers recipe (link below) and gave it a go. Within minutes of roasting the bell pepper I was like, “What on earth is that heavenly smell?! Is that the bell pepper?!”. Mark just looked at me and smiled. We both LOVED this dish. I will be making this again. Even though this took more steps than my usual recipes it was very easy and fo sho worth it. My bell pepper cost 33 cents because it was randomly on sale. I only had a quarter of that bell pepper left. I would have used a whole one or a half of one but it was great even using the small amount I did. Feel free to roast as much red bell pepper as you’d like and to add as much oil or vegan butter to this dish too!!! This dish cost $1.29.

Vegan Roasted Red Pepper Pasta - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

1/4 of a red bell pepper (you can use more!), 1/4 onion, 1 garlic clove, 1 TB oil, 1 cup plain almond milk, 1 TB corn startch, parsley, salt & pepper, 4 ounce pasta

  1. Roast bell pepper by cutting it and placing it cut side down. Bake at 450 degrees til the skin chars. Mine took 20 minutes but it could take 30 minutes or more.
  2. Remove from oven and carefully wrap bell pepper in foil and set aside to steam in the foil pouch.
  3. Chop onion and garlic and saute in oil & salt
  4. After 15 minutes open the foil pouch and remove skin from the bell pepper
  5. Add 1 cup of plain almond milk to blended. Add red pepper pepper. Add oil, garlic and onion from your pot. Throw in 1 TB corn starch. Blend til smooth.
  6. Pour everything from the blender back into the pot. Heat on high til it comes to a boil Whisk well and turn down heat to a simmer. Cook until you get desired thickness. (or add more corn starch).
  7. Cook 4 oz pasta and toss with sauce. Enjoy!

This recipe was inspired by Minimalist Baker.

Vegan Sun Dried Tomato Pizza - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

Vegan Sun Dried Tomato Pizza (store bought dough)

Trader joes pizza dough is seriously $1.19 for a whole pound! Dude that’s a lot of pizza!! I used half of the dough to make my pizza. You really can’t get it any cheaper. I’ve had the great idea of adding sun dried tomato to pizza before and instantly burned them to dust in the oven. It’s so obvious looking back, they’re already dried out. More heat isn’t smart. Now I did that again but this time I used sun dried tomatoes packed in oil so only the tips burned. I recommend adding sun dried tomatoes AFTER you cook the pizza. Can I please remember this for next time? This cost $1.40!

Vegan Sun Dried Tomato Pizza - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - $6 Budget - Italian (#8)

1/2 lb pizza dough, flour for working with the dough, pasta sauce, spices, olives, sun dried tomatoes in oil, oil to coat the crust (optional), basil for garnish (optional), drizzle with olive oil or tahini (optional)

  1. Place baking sheet in 420 degree oven.
  2. Cover your work space with flour. Put dough on your floured work space then coat hands in flour and shape your pizza. Add the least amount of flour to your dough to keep it from sticking to your hands or your work surface.
  3. Spray foil in oil and add your shaped dough to the foil
  4. Top the dough. Add a layer of pasta sauce. Add spices (I used onion & garlic powder + ground fennel). Add olives. Coat pizza crust with oil to make it golden.
  5. Add your foil & dough to your hot baking sheet and bake til crust is golden (12-20 minutes)
  6. Garnish with sun dried tomatoes, fresh basil and a drizzle of olive oil or tahini. ENJOY

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Here’s more of my What I Eat In A Day posts. Video of todays feast below.

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan What I Eat In A Day – $6 Budget – Italian (#8)

Leave a Reply

