Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan What I Eat In A Day – Indian (#9)

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9)

Video of me making everything is below. And as usual my husband split most of this with me. Thanks homie.

Vegan Blue Smoothie Bowl with Cherries, Chia, Cacao Nibs - Blue Spirulina Powder - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Blue Smoothie Bowl with Cherries

Oh my god, the cherries kept sinking. Because this was a true smoothie with a full cup of almond milk the cherries kept disappearing. As I photographed I kept adding more. More chia seeds. More love. The first round of dazzling this bowl up had hemp seeds and cacao nibs but when the ship started going under I didn’t have time to bring it back to 100%. I think nice cream style would have kept the cherries surfing the wave.

When I finally sat down and ate this bowl…..OMMMMYGOOOOD. How have I gotten over cacao nibs? They totally took this to the max! This was awesome. I used a modest amount of blue spirulina and really couldn’t taste it. I can eat a LOT of spirulina. I got my blue powder off ebay because the brand that people point to on instagram have the most outdated website. It’s like, what are you making this stuff along side with your meth? I’ll buy elsewhere. PEACE. hahahahah

Vegan Blue Smoothie Bowl with Cherries, Chia, Cacao Nibs - Blue Spirulina Powder - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Right after I took a million pictures of this thing and added almost 1/2 lb of cherries to the bowl I sprinkled a dash of beet powder on top which is what you see in the picture below. So romantic. (beet powder I found in the bulk ~self serve~ spices & herb section of whole foods)

When I got down to the bottom of the bowl after indulging in the smoothie I had half of bowl FULL of cherries. I LOVE cherries. That’s how many sunk the ship.

Vegan Blue Smoothie Bowl with Cherries, Chia, Cacao Nibs - Blue Spirulina Powder - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

2 chopped frozen bananas (224 grams), 1 cup sweetened almond milk, 2 capsules of blue spirulina powder + toppings: a million cherries, cacao nibs, hemp seeds, chia seeds and a dash of beet powder

  1. Blend 1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk with frozen bananas. Empty two blue spirulina caps and blend more.
  2. Pour in bowl and top with stuff. ENJOY

Vegan Indian Naan + Chutney (Made from Pizza Dough) - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Coriander Chutney with Pizza Dough Naan

How often do you eat warm naan/tortillas? I love convenience foods but today’s a “What I Eat In A Day” so I’ve got to take this to the MAX. Warm Indian bread with cool green chutney. It couldn’t get any better.

Vegan Indian Naan + Chutney (Made from Pizza Dough) - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Chutney (huge batch, feel free to use 1/4 of this):
4-5 tomatoes, 1 pablano pepper, 2 bunches of cilantro, 1/2 ts cumin seed, salt to taste (lemon or lime juice optional)

  1. Chop up tomatoes & pablano pepper and throw in the blender with 2 bunches of cilantro (cut off the stems), 1/2 ts cumin seed and blend
  2. Add salt to taste

Vegan Naan (store bought pizza dough):
1/2 lb pizza dough (half of a bag of trader joes dough), spray oil, flour

  1. Flour your work surface and hands
  2. Form your dough into a ball. Flour any parts that feel sticky.
  3. Cut dough into as many piece of naan as you’d like. I did 4.
  4. Roll them flat with a rolling pin and flour it any time it starts to stick
  5. Heat skillet to med high
  6. Spray skillet with oil and cook one piece of dough at a time
  7. Flip dough ones bubbles and browning occurs. Adjust heat as needed. ENJOY

Vegan Indian Potato Curry with Star Anise Rice - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

So I saw a picture (her recipe here) on pinterest which inspired me to make this dish. I did not follow the recipe because my brain finds it challenging to do that but I did want to imitate the way she prepare the potatoes. I’ll see if Mark would ever be down to actually make the curry sauce as she prescribes. Hers does look really good. In the end I think I’d skip the step of frying up the potatoes after boiling them. I don’t need the extra oil.

Vegan Indian Potato Curry with Star Anise Rice - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Indian Potatoes in Curry with Star Anise Rice

1 serving rice (45 grams dry), 1/2 cup water, 1/2 star anise, 5 fingerling potatoes (214 grams/7 oz), 2 TB oil, 1/4 onion, 1 garlic clove, 1/2 ts of each of the following: mustard seed, cumin seed, coriander powder, turmeric, ginger powder + salt to taste, cilantro, 6 TB coconut milk from can, 6 TB tomato sauce or diced tomatoes (I had a can of fire roasted tomatoes already open)

  1. Cook 1 serving of rice with water & 1/2 of a star anise
  2. Boil potatoes til soft but not mushy
  3. Let potatoes cool then remove skin
  4. Saute chopped onions and garlic with 1 TB oil and salt
  5. Once they start to soften add 1 ts mustard seed & 1 ts cumin seed
  6. Once mustard seeds start to pop add 6 TB of each coconut milk & tomato sauce
  7. Add the rest of the spices (1 ts of each; coriander powder, turmeric, ginger powder)
  8. Throw everything in the blender and blend til smooth
  9. Optional step: fry up the peeled boiled potatoes in 1 TB oil + sprinkle of cumin seed
  10. Mix curry sauce with with potatoes and top with chopped cilantro. Serve with rice. ENJOY

Vegan Chai Almond Milk Latte (Frothed + Caffeine Free) - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Chai Almond Milk Latte (caffeine free)

If I was inclined to drink my calories I would live off of chai. I am completely dazzled by this spice blend. I know everyone and their mom makes it the right way but this is my way. #1 I don’t need the pepper. Pepper is part of chai but not my chai. #2 I don’t add tea or anything caffeinated. I can’t hang (old lady alert!). When we were ultra poor my super frugal ass insisted that Mark buy a Breville milk frother for his morning homemade coffee/espresso experience. We hiked our asses to William Sanoma to buy this frother. Again, this $100+ purchase was coming from mega poor suckers but 3 years years later this thing is still killing it. You want to froth almond milk? Chill the Breville cup with ice water, pour out the water then add your almond milk. Bada bing, bada boom. Marks quality of life shot up a billion points from that small purchase. Best way to enjoy the poor house is with a pour of starbucks, homemade. Earn a couple dollars but live a million dollar life. Isn’t that what I always say?!

I got all of my herbs for wicked cheap from the bulk herb section of the health food store.

Vegan Chai Almond Milk Latte (Frothed + Caffeine Free) - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

2 green cardamom seeds, 1 clove, 1 cinnamon stick, 1/2 ts ginger powder (you may want less), 2/3 cup water, 1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk

  1. I put all spices in a mortar except the cinnamon. With the pestle crust everything and mix it together.
  2. Pour out spices into 2/3 cup water in a pot. Add cinnamon. Boil then simmer until cinnamon stick starts to change shape and shares its fragrance. I simmered mine for 15 minutes.
  3. Heat almond milk. I used our milk frother.
  4. Strain herbs out of the boiled water. Add almond milk. ENJOY

Vegan Indian Veggies with Curry - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Side of Veggies (Indian Style!)

This may seem like we’re going a little nuts with curry today and I would agree. This sauce has much different flavor from the sauce we just made for the potatoes. This one doesn’t have any “cream” (coconut cream) and is heavy on dark earthy spices. I’ve been craving this version of curry since Mark introduced me to it. I admit the picture doesn’t look like much but this is a great alternative to whatever way to eat your bags of frozen veggies. Super warming.

Vegan Indian Veggies with Curry - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Indian (#9) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1/4 onion, 3-4 tomatoes, 1/4 red bell pepper, 2 TB oil, pinch of garlic powder, 1/2 ts ginger powder, 2 ts chili powder, 1/2 ts turmeric, 1.5 ts coriander, 1.5 ts ground cumin, 1/2 ts salt, 2 ts vinegar, salt to taste, bag of frozen mixed veggies, cilantro, 1 ts garam masala

  1. Saute chopped onions and bell pepper with 2 TB oil and salt
  2. Once they start to soften add a pinch of garlic powder, 1/2 ts ginger powder, 2 ts chili powder, 1/2 ts turmeric, 1/5 ts coriander, 1.5 ts ground cumin
  3. After a few minutes of the spices fusing with the oil add chopped tomatoes
  4. Add 1/2 ts sugar and 2 ts vinegar
  5. Let everything slowly boil until the tomatoes breakdown and you have your sauce
  6. Add salt to taste
  7. Heat your bag of frozen veggies (I used my thrift store Foreman!)
  8. Once veggies are ready to eat mix them with sauce
  9. Throw in a handful of chopped cilantro. ENJOY

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Here’s more of my What I Eat In A Day posts. Video of todays feast below.

 

4 thoughts on “Vegan What I Eat In A Day – Indian (#9)

  1. I’ve only watched one video and read the corresponding blog but have just gotten hooked. Beautiful images of delicious sounding food. I’m making a slow and bumpy transition to vegan and am inspired. Thank you for your beautiful work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope my recipes smooth the transistion for you. We eat all food (junk, whole, plant, animal) but just share the vegan stuff that we make! Do you know what’s making the transistion difficult?

      Like

Leave a Reply

