10 Ways To Cook Potatoes – VEGAN

10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

For the most part these aren’t really recipes. What you see in the video below is just how to prep the potatoes but you’ll still need to add spices to most of these. I know there’s a right kind of potato to use depending on what you’re making but I ignore all of that. Just a heads up. Use whatever or go figure out how to be right.

Vegan Smashed Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Smashed Potatoes
If you’ve never had these before they’re worth a try. They have the awesomeness of both a baked potato and crispy potato wedges. Well not wedges per se but you know what I mean. Crispy Β <— you get it

When you boil these you want them soft but not mushy. I use a toothpick to see how soft these are. One time I tried making these. I boiled them and was able to poke a toothpick all of the way through but when it came time to smash them they didn’t crush so I always boil them a little past the point when I first think “They’re done!” False, give it a few more minutes.

Vegan Smashed Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Β Boil small potatoes til they’re soft
  2. Drain. Place on cookie sheet and smash with fork or potato masher. Goal is to create texture. Maybe you’ll want these flattened but I like mine to have mountain peaks.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt
  4. Bake at 400 degrees until the edges get crispy & golden (25 minutes?)
  5. Once done feel free to top with vegan sour cream, tahini or dust with dried herbs. ENJOY

Vegan Hasselback Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Hasselback Potatoes
Anything with curb appeal automatically gets a thumbs up. You can slice these thin or thick. You can use a chopstick or wooden utensil beside the potato to keep you from slicing all the way through. Feel free to watch the video to see how the magic is done since English isn’t working for me in this realm.

Every recipe I’ve ever seen for hasselback suggests you bake them for way too short. I have no idea what the deal is. I HAVE to cook these FOREVER. What you see in the pictures is slightly under cooked. I second guessed myself. You’ll want to damn near burn the edges. The number 1 thing I suggest is that you poke through the middle with a toothpick to see if they’re done. You don’t want these just soft (which is what you see in the pictures). You want these super soft in the middle and by that time the outside with be ultra crispy. I went kind of lightweight with the oil but the more you use the better they come out. You can even drizzle more oil over the top half way through once they start to fan open.

Vegan Hasselback Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Slice potatoes (I used medium size) with a chopstick parallel to the potato to prevent cutting all of the way through. I like making thinner slices that are closer together but thicker slices work too.
  2. Roll sliced potatoes in oil. Carefully try to fan out the potato to get oil in between the slices. I usually fail at doing that. Then sprinkle with salt.
  3. Bake at 400 degrees for a long time. I think at least 60 minutes but it could be more. Check these after 45 minutes. Many blogs say 45 minutes is good enough but i disagree.
  4. Once done sprinkle with dry herbs, hot sauce, BBQ sauce or top like a loaded baked potato. ENJOY

Vegan Baked Fries - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Baked Fries
I know, I know. Soak these bitches in water, right? Wrong. —> too lazy. You can! I’m over here eating fries and cheering you on. Soak that shit! You go grrrl.

Vegan Baked Fries - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Cut large potatoes (I used russet) into even slices. Soak in water to be fancy. I’m not fancy.
  2. Coat in oil. Maybe 1 TB oil for every large potato.
  3. Lay out on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with salt
  4. Bake at 400 degrees til crispy and golden. I usually cook mine 45-60 minutes.
  5. Once done sprinkle with fresh ground pepper. ENJOY

Vegan Crispy Potato Wedges- 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Potato Wedges
Much like our friend the baked fry these have more mouth feel. More bite. So good. In the picture you’ll see that I kind of burned (did NOT taste burnt!) the wedges because I added fry seasoning (I’m obsessed with Adams “burger & fry seasoning”) before putting them in the oven. Sometimes pre-spicing works and other times it doesn’t. I’m guessing dried herbs burn quickly but adding oil prevent that. Who know? Let me know if you know.

Vegan Crispy Potato Wedges- 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Slice potato long ways. Keep slicing long ways til you have wedges. Feel free to cut yours in half if you’re using a huge potato.
  2. Mix in oil. I say 1 TB per large potato.
  3. Spread on baking sheet and sprinkle with salt.
  4. Bake at 400 til crispy and brown. 35-50 minutes usually. ENJOY

Vegan Crispy Stacked Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Stacked Potatoes
The pictures looks super golden. These are regular potatoes, not sweet potatoes. I used a mandolin slicer and cut these on the thinnest setting. These completely blew me away. The level of creamy inside and crispy outside was at 100%. I was shocked! I intended to make these in a muffin tin as all of pinterest suggested but these were too big so I they went on a cookie tray. And all was well. These may have been amazing because I wentΒ super heavy with the oil. Yeah, I used 4 TB of oil for 3 small potatoes (400 grams).

Vegan Crispy Stacked Potatoes - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Slice potatoes ultra thin on a mandolin. Coat in tons of oil.
  2. Stack them on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with salt (they shrink in the oven)
  3. Bake at 400 degrees until the edges are super crispy. 35 minutes or more. ENJOY

a-potato-hashbrowns-pinterest

Vegan Hash Browns Baked In Muffin Tin
The texture to these were perfect. Mine were ultra bland because I didn’t add anything to the mix. Add salt or onion powder. Or even better, saute onions, peppers and jalapeno and add those! YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Vegan Baked Hash Browns in Muffin Tin - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Grate potatoes. Pat them with a paper towel to absorb some of the moisture. I think you shouldn’t squeeze them dry.
  2. Add oil. I added 1 TB for 3 medium size potatoes.
  3. Mix in spices or grilled onions
  4. Spray muffin tin with oil before filling with potatoes
  5. Sprinkle with salt
  6. Bake at 400 degrees til crispy and golden. Maybe 35 minutes?

Vegan Grilled Potatoes on George Foreman Grill - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Grilled Potatoes (foreman!)
I LOVE gushing about how legit a Foreman Grill is for vegan cooking. I made a silly Vegan Foreman video where I talk all about it while cooking crazy vegan stuff right in front of your eyes. Dude, this is THE fastest way to make potatoes. The outside is crispy. You don’t need oil or salt. I did use spray oil and fry seasoning. I LOVE THIS.

Vegan Grilled Potatoes on George Foreman Grill - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Slice potatoes into rounds. Not too thick but not too thin.
  2. OPTIONAL: Put foil on the Foreman so that you don’t have to clean anything up. Spray with oil and sprinkle with fry salt seasoning.
  3. Cook on high for at 20 minutes. Maybe 25. Every grill is different so yours might require different amounts of time. ENJOY

Vegan Fat Free Potato Chips - Microwave - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Fat Free, Salt Free Crispy Potato Chips
For being salt free and fat free these didn’t seem the least bit bland to me. Maybe I’m high. That just doesn’t sound right. Whatever. These were good.

Vegan Fat Free Potato Chips - Microwave - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Slice potatoes thin with mandolin. Soak in water. Pat dry all of these.
  2. Place on plate. Don’t overlap.
  3. Microwave on high 3 minutes on each side. Maybe give it another minute if not crispy. ENJOY

Vegan Potato Patties with Cheese - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Potato Patties with Cheese
Dude, potato patties! I LOVE potato patties. I ran out of bread crumbs so I put panko in my food processor to give them the right texture. It worked great but whole foods brand of italian bread crumbs are my fav. That would have taken these to the max.

Vegan Potato Patties with Cheese - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Boil potatoes. Drain them, mash them.
  2. Mix in enough bread crumbs to get a dough texture. You want to be able to roll a ball and it holds its shape without being sticky. I used about 40 grams bread crumbs with about 200 grams potatoes (more or less). Add spices of choice.
  3. Form potatoes then coat one side with bread crumbs
  4. Sandwich two potato patties with a slice of vegan cheese in the middle. I used daiya.
  5. Fry in a skillet with either oil or spray oil. Cook on med until crispy and cheese melts. ENJOY

Vegan Duchess Potato - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Duchess Potatoes
Again, curb appeal. I tried making these the logical way. Greased up mashed potatoes piped on to a cookie sheet but that failed. Tasted great but was a flat shapeless nothing. After a few minutes in the oven they just melted from fancy into a blob. The recipe that that inspired me calls for eggs…so I bought some vegan eggs but seriously could not muster the will power to add an extra step. I usually do not remake a recipe. Most bloggers test shit but I’m not even in their universe. If shit fails then I usually just move on. But I waited a day and made these again. I really thought I was gonna bust out the vegan eggs but then decided that less steps might be the solution and it worked. Granted these were on the edge of melting into a blob but the pictures say it all. Worked out enough.

These tasted awesome! I was thinking they might be bland because the lack of oil or spices but these tasted like fries. Even Mark said that without me asking him. Legit!

Vegan Duchess Potato - 10 Ways To Cook Potatoes - VEGAN - Baked, Grilled, Mashed, Smashed, Fries, Chips, Duchess, Stacked, Wedges, Hash Browns, Patties, Hasselback - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

  1. Boil potatoes. Drain well. Mash 100%. No lumps or they’ll clog the piping bag.
  2. Grease cookie sheet. Pipe potatoes onto cookie sheet. Try to build a solid stack. If it’s hollow like an upside down cone then they’ll spread out more while baking.
  3. Drizzle oil over the piped potatoes. Sprinkle with salt.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees til the edges start get golden. About 30 minutes?
23 thoughts on “10 Ways To Cook Potatoes – VEGAN

  1. Did I just jump in a potato heaven 🍠 πŸ’›πŸ’­ this is perfect, absolutely perfect, I like people who get creative with cooking, I love the shredded way, and the patties!! Definitely gonna do them with falafels on the side yummmm!! You’re awesome ✌ thanks a lot 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ha ha ha. Yeah, I was thinking of not doing voice overs for that reason but everyone and their mom has been requesting more voice overs. What’s a girl to do?

      Like

      1. I love your voice overs! Do like you’re already doing, make some video with them and some without, so everyone is happy πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You get it!

        I feel like I can’t win πŸ˜€

        Some people tell me they LOVE the voice overs but when I do them I instantly get more thumbs down.

        In the end I think the folks who love them may be more loyal since they kind of dig my personality so it feels silly that I’m not doing them on every video….. but it takes the pressure off me. Dude, now that I know people are listening to me I’m feeling a little shy! SAY WHAT?! <– I'm crazy.

        Like

  2. I made the duchess potato and the patties, they are awesome! Perfect for when you have leftovers boiled/mashed potatoes. And I had no idea how to make chips oil free, I never thought the microwave oven would dry them so nicely. Thank you for sharing, love your recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude, that’s great!!! I was surprised how good the chips were. I remember trying an unsalted bag of chips when I was a kid and they were so stale. Gross. The ones I made were unsalted but awesome!

      Like

    1. Sweet! definitely appreciate the encouragement. I never know if people dig the chit chat or not. Random chit chat coming soon! (maybe today! ha ha ha ha ha)

      Like

  3. There can never be enough ways to cook potatoes. We call them “spuds” here in Aus. There’s this guy over in the west (Western Australia) my home state, who decided that he was only going to eat potatoes to crush his overeating addiction. Sounds like he could use this post. Cheers for another brilliant post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. potato diet also sounds like a ways to crust some debt. ha ha ha. I’ve bought potatoes at the mexican food stores for as cheap as 5 lb for a $1!!!! Granted it’s been a while since I found them that cheap but ya know.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I always want fries. Goes with the territory. Tasmania is called “The apple isle” but really, it’s full of spuds so ANY time is good for potatoes here πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Cool stuff!! πŸ˜‰ Don’t pay attention to the haters. We love your stuff. A ton of good ideas. Do you have a favorite cornbread recipe? I loved the saving money video it had good content. You have to remember most people don’t even have $1000.00 in the bank. You should be a chef. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude thanks for the love! ❀

      I do have 2 cornbread recipes that are crazy good. I should totally make some corn meal/flour recipes. I always forget how addicting they are!

      VEGAN JALAPENO CREAM CHEESE CORNBREAD MUFFINS: https://richbitchcooking.wordpress.com/2016/08/14/vegan-jalapeno-cream-cheese-cornbread-muffins/

      VEGAN CHILI CORNBREAD CASSEROLE – ULTRA LOW FAT: https://richbitchcooking.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/vegan-chili-cornbread-casserole-ultra-low-fat/

      Ahhhh, people not even having $1,000 in the bank sounds stressful. Granted we're not rolling in the dough being self employed like we were when we had J-O-Bs.

      Chef Lazy πŸ™‚ ha ha ha ha ha

      Like

Leave a Reply

