Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

Vegan What I Eat In A Day – Korean (#15)

Vegan Japchae Noodles - Vegan Kimchi Pancake Jeon - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

This was my first time making and eating Korean food! It twas legit. This chick suggested I do a Korean What I Eat In A Day video. I wouldn’t have thought of it otherwise so I was super glad she suggested it!

Vegan Cashew Butter + Chocolate Banana Smoothie Bowl - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

Vegan Cashew Butter + Chocolate Banana Smoothie Bowl
I was at the fancy food store looking for vegan chocolate bars to add to my smoothie bowls. Dude, their wall of choices was too much for my little brain to handle. I don’t give a fuck, I’ll admit that I like shitty cheap chocolate. The kind that tastes like pure sugar and cut with palm oil. Super dark chocolate, despite the MANY long years of exclusively eating it, is not what’s most delicious to me. The bar that I ended up buying was pretty dark but by the second bite I was fine with it. It was over priced because it’s “handcrafted”. don’t gave a fuck. I bought it because their packaging was aesthetically pleasing. Yes, I’m trying to be more of a sucker for good marketing. Not even close to my favorite flavor or texture but I kind of like that. Don’t go to their website if flowery talk of being a do gooder makes your eyez bleed like it does mine.  Vegan Cashew Butter + Chocolate Banana Smoothie Bowl - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

And as much as I want to talk shit on their inspirational message…. what I really want to take pictures of their packaging. So classy! And hipster! And handcrafted. I may buy another one of their bars but only if I can talk more shit while I empty out more my wallet. Their vulnerability makes me uncomfortable. ha ha ha

Vegan Cashew Butter + Chocolate Banana Smoothie Bowl - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

2 frozen chopped bananas (240 grams), 2-4 TB maple syrup, 2 TB cashew butter, cold water, almond milk, handful of cashews, sprinkle of chia seeds, chocolate bar, 1/2 ts cinnamon, fresh banana cut in half

  1. In a food processor blend frozen bananas with a dash of cold water, some maple syrup and 1/2 ts cinnamon powder. Pour in a bowl.
  2. Mix 2 TB cashew butter with maple syrup and almond milk until you get desired texture. (Mix liquid in slowly!) Pour on top of smoothie bowl.
  3. Top the bowl with chocolate bar, bananas and chia seeds. ENJOY

Vegan KimChi Pancake - Korean Jeon - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

Vegan KimChi Pancake – Korean Jeon
Shut the front door!!!!!!!!!!! This is so flipping good. I made two pancakes with the intention of sharing with Mark. He took one baby bite and made an awful face. Come on!! This was the most delicious thing ever! And I’m not even a lover kimchi. But getting these both to myself was a home run. So freaking good. I think the secret ingredient isn’t the kimchi. The red chili paste has turned many dishes into pure flavor magick. So hey!

I didn’t add onion or green onion to the batter but I bet that would make this even better. This recipe was inspired by Korean Bapsang.

Vegan KimChi Pancake - Korean Jeon - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

1/2 cup flour (60 grams) + a couple TB extra, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup-ish of finely sliced kimchi, 1 ts red chili curry paste, sesame seed oil for pan frying (sliced onion or green onion recommended)

  1. Slice kimchi as small as you can
  2. Mix 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 cup water. Add in 1 ts red chili paste. Add kimchi & onion. Mix and if batter seems watery then add more flour. I ended up adding 2.5 TB more flour.
  3. Heat skillet with 1 TB sesame seed oil. Fry pancake til the edges look golden and bubbles are coming through the top. Flip and fry the other side. My batter took 2 batches to use up. ENJOY

Vegan Japchae Glass Noodles with Veggies - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

Vegan Japchae Glass Noodles with Veggies
I wonder if I did something wrong. Every time I read up on making japchae people whined about how laborious this dish is to make. I’m pretty sure it took as long to make this as most other dishes that is part starch and part veggies. I’m not sure. No complaints here! Plus look how beautiful the noodles are! I wish I had some starry eyed smiley faced emoji to put here. Ever since making smoothie bowls with pink dragon fruit I think there’s a higher bar of beauty a dish could elevate to.

One thing this dish needed was fresh garlic but I’m a garlic lightweight. I sauteed some garlic and left it at that. But if YOU want to keep it real there’s a way and garlic is the way. Also it’s suggested you re-hydrate the dried mushrooms for 2 hours but I used hot water & only 30 minutes. The stems were still too hard so I just those out. oh well. This was inspired by kimchimari.

Vegan Japchae Glass Noodles with Veggies - Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Korean (#15)

half carrot, 7 dried shiitake mushrooms, bunch of spinach, 1/3 onion, garlic clove, 1/4 red bell pepper, 2 green onion, 4 oz dry sweet potato starch noodles, 3 ts brown sugar, 2 TB + 2 ts soy sauce, 1 ts rice vinegar, 2 ts sesame oil + more sesame oil for cooking, salt

  1. Soak mushrooms til nice and plump (recommended 2 hours)
  2. Chop hydrated mushrooms and sprinkle with 1 ts brown sugar + soy sauce. Set aside.
  3. Put large pot of water on to boil
  4. Slice onion, carrots and bell pepper. Chop onion, green onion and garlic. Wash spinach well.
  5. When water get near a boil add spinach for 30 seconds – 1 minute. Remove spinach from water and place in a colander.
  6. Once water boils add noodles to water and cook according to package
  7. Squeeze water from spinach. Chop spinach up.
  8. Drain noodles and rinse with cold water. Cut noodles into smaller pieces with scissors. Sprinkle 1 ts soy sauce, 1 ts brown sugar and 1 ts rice vinegar on noodles and mix well. Set aside.
  9. Saute onions, garlic and red bell pepper with salt + oil. Add carrots and sprinkle with salt. Remove things as they soften. Add green onion and mushrooms. Add all veggies and noodles to the skillet and mix everything together.
  10. Add 2 TB soy sauce & 1 ts brown sugar and mix. ENJOY

Vegan What I Eat In A Day - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Here’s more of my What I Eat In A Day posts. Video of todays feast below.

10 thoughts on “Vegan What I Eat In A Day – Korean (#15)

  1. Looks wonderful! Love the addition of spinach. And yes, made the traditional way, it is quite laborious but I have simplified that quite a bit in my recipe. Thanks for being inspired by my recipe and for linking it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE your recipes and videos. Glad to see another one, and it is Korean. I am having a love affair with Korean food at the moment, LOL.

    I tried to comment on the video but comments were disabled, what’s up with that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude thanks! What kind of Korean food are you obsessed with? I would love to try more stuff!

      I turned YouTube comments off two years ago after reading pages of faceless fuckers telling me how ugly I am, how shitty my tattoos are, how unemployable I must be and how ashamed my parents must be of me… Oh and how I’m so much of a man.

      Like

      1. OMG people are so rude and pure evil. Sorry you had to read that shit.

        Tofu soup (both Maangchi and Cheap Lazy VEgan have recipes on youtube.

        I LOVE Maangchi’s videos. She also has a really good braised tofu recipe, black bean noodles and bulgogi (mommytang) has a great veganized recipe.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll have to look into those. I have seen a couple of Maangchi’s videos. They’re really good!

        Ha ha ha, people are wild!

        Like

  3. I must admit i am a sucker for pretty packaging as well haha. It runs in the family. I bet it’s genetic at some level ’cause my cousin’s like that too. But she’s a sucker for “aesthetically pleasing” wine bottles!

    The kimchijeon looks so appetizing!! Sadly we don’t have korean chili paste here… or kimchi….
    I think i’ll be gross enough to try it with sauerkraut instead 👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude I bet that is genetic. My family acts immune to aesthetically pleasing stuff. I’m in my 30s and am looking around like, how have I never noticed all this stuff before? Like I just blanked out on the packaging and just was all business with my purchases. ha ha ha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

