4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba)

Coffee, Fruit, Almond Milk -4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

This was my first time having bubble tea. Shout out to my artist friend Misty for giving me some extra tapioca pearls that she had laying around. Yay! Free shit.

Bubble tea can be made an infinite amount of ways. A lot of people brew a bag of black tea and pour it over ice with pearls at the bottle. I’m not a fan of black tea so I wanted to share what the infinite amount of options were.

  1. Prep tapioca balls
  2. Make tea, coffee, smoothie, fruit + almond milk or flavored syrup with any liquid

You can sweeten with sugar, agave, maple syrup, sweetened almond milk, flavored syrups for coffees.

You can use tea, smoothie, coffee, almond milk and canned coconut for the liquid.

The use of the word “tea” below might be confusing since I chose not to use actual tea. Instead I mixed things into almond milk!

Coffee, Fruit, Almond Milk - 4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

As far as I know each brand of pearls can take different amounts of time to prepare. I’ve heard of quick cook pearls that only take 5 minutes but mine took about 45 minutes.

How I prepared these pearls:

  1. I poured 1/2 cup of pearls in a bowl. Then boiled 6x the amount of water.
  2. Once water boils add pearls. Stir every few minutes. Once they float turn the heat down and put a lid on the pot. Let pearls boil on medium for 20 minutes & stir every couple minutes.
  3. After 20 minutes turn the heat off and keep the lid on for an 25 more minutes.
  4. After 25 minutes drain the pearls. Rinse pearls til they cool down.
  5. Mix pearls with a couple tablespoons of liquid syrup (I used agave). Now use in a drink.

Coffee, Fruit, Almond Milk - 4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Blue Bubble Tea
whisked blue spirulina capsule with almond milk + tapioca pearls

Vegan Green Bubble Tea
whisk powdered greens or matcha powder with almond milk + tapioca pearls

Vegan Pink Bubble Tea (Smoothie)
Blend frozen dragon fruit withy almond milk + tapioca pearls

(either use sweetened almond milk or add sweetener)

Coffee + Almond Milk - 4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba) - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Iced Coffee Bubble Tea

  1. Put pearls at the bottom of a glass
  2. Fill glass with ice
  3. Pour fresh hot brewed coffee (or chilled coffee) over the ice
  4. Add sweetened almond milk

 

7 thoughts on “4 Vegan Bubble Teas (Boba)

  1. NOW you’re talking! I knew I loved this blog from the moment I found it (on Pinterest by the way) for a reason. As part of Asia, Aussies are well versed in Asian goodies and we have wholeheartedly embraced bubble tea. As a vegan who no longer drinks tea, it has been hard for me to embrace most of the varieties that are sold in the bubble tea shop in the city but now I can make my own tea free version. You are a star! I have a big bag of black tapioca pearls in my cupboard that has been there for a long time. I just bought some vanilla roibus that I think will go amazingly well in bubble tea. You have just become my bubble tea muse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dude a big bag of pearls should last you a while. My friend gave me a small container full and it should hold me over for a while! I do need to get more straws though. There’s a ton of asian stores around here. Any excuse to go to one ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am a cheap arse. I saved my bubble tea straws and brought them home so I already have some. I might go hunting for some of those really big glass straws though as they would be awesome. I shared your post all over the place and got a tonne of feedback on it on my Facebook feed. Cheers for igniting the bubble tea passion down here in Aus 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Being cheap, speaking my language! Thanks for sharing our shit! Funny that you’ve saved straws from the tea shop. I’ve done a lot of random stuff on that level. ha ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. … okay, the bubble coffee thing was clever, though I gotta ask: where’d you get the single-cup brewer thingie? It literally made me sit here and go, “Okay, THAT is cool.”

    Like

    1. I think we over paid for ours but we have owned it for years. We bought it at one of those fancy kitchen stores but if you type “single coffee ceramic pour over” into ebay or amazon you’ll find them for cheap!

      I love it. I’ve been using it everyday for the last few weeks (even though we’ve had it for years) 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

