3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

3 Vegan Pasta & “Meat” Dishes

Vegan Seitan Sausage Mac Cheese, Lentil Meatballs in Cream Sauce, Mushroom Meat Sauce - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

I’ve made vegan cream sauces before. I’ve made a few during the 9 Vegan Pasta Recipe post. I’ve also made fat free Vegan Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce. But those have NOTHING on this these posted here. I’ve posted this cheese sauce many times but each time they’re either low fat or fat free. Truly the best vegan smokey cheese sauce is listed below. And it has a bunch of fat. Fat is the secret ingredient.

These recipes are so rich and amazing. No joke.

Vegan Mushroom Meat Sauce - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Mushroom Meat Sauce
This is so good. You could totally leave out the pasta and enjoy the “meat sauce” on it’s own. Feel free to use whatever Italian spices you like. This recipes was inspired by Cocoon Cooks.

This makes 2 servings

Vegan Mushroom Meat Sauce - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1 very small onion, 1 garlic clove, 8 oz mushrooms, 1 TB oil, salt, spices (1/2 ts sage, 1/2 marjoram), canned fire roasted diced tomatoes (optional), 8 oz pasta, 1 serving pasta sauce

  1. Chop mushrooms then put in food processor. Pulse mushrooms a few times.
  2. Chop onion & garlic. Saute with oil & salt til soft.
  3. Add mushrooms to onion and garlic. Sprinkle with salt. Cook til mushrooms release their liquid. Keep cooking til mushroom liquid evaporates.
  4. Add enough tomato sauce to fully coat mushrooms. Add spices. Drain fire roasted tomatoes well then mix into pasta/mushroom sauce. Done.
  5. Pour sauce over 2 bowls of pasta. ENJOY

Vegan Lentil Meatballs in Cream Sauce - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Lentil Meatballs in Cream Sauce
This is the best cream sauce. Mine came out lumpy because I don’t know what the hell I was doing + I was filming while making this recipe. I would recommend whisking the almond milk while adding the flour. I didn’t whisk which explains the lumpiness.

I started this recipe with 1/3 cup plain almond milk then slowly added a ton more. I wanted to make sure this stayed thick. I’m not sure how much more almond milk. I trust you can figure out your desired sauce thickness.

The vegan meatballs were inspired by Minimalist Baker.

This made 2 small servings or 1 massive serving

Vegan Lentil Meatballs in Cream Sauce - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

LENTIL MEATBALLS:
100 grams of canned lentils (about 1/2 or 1/3 of can, drained), 3 TB vegan Italian breadcrumbs (28 grams, I like whole foods brand), 1 TB tomato sauce, spices (1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 garlic powder, ground fennel seed & marjoram), salt

  1. Put everything in a food processor except tomato sauce. Pulse a few times then pour in a bowl.
  2. Add 1 TB tomato sauce and mix well. Pinch a ball together with your fingers. If the mixture holds together then move to next step. If mixture is too dry add more tomato sauce or a dash of water. If mixture is too wet add more breadcrumbs.
  3. Form balls and bake at 375 for 20 minutes. Done

VEGAN CREAM SAUCE:
1/3 cup plain almond milk (+ a bunch more), 4 TB flour, 4 TB oil or vegan butter, 1/4 ts garlic powder, 1/2 ts onion powder, salt, pepper, parsley, 5.5 oz pasta

  1. Heat plain almond milk and whisk everything together. 4 TB of flour will quickly thicken the sauce up too much. Slowly add more almond milk while whisking until you get desired texture.
  2. Cook pasta and top with vegan cream sauce & vegan meatballs. ENJOY

Vegan Seitan Sausage Mac Cheese - Smokey Cheddar Cheesy Dip - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Seitan Sausage + Mac & Smokey Cheddar Cheese
This is the most addicting vegan cheese sauce ever. This made twice as much as I needed so I’m going to repost the left overs in the next recipe post as a cheese dip. Seems kind of lazy but I NEED to share this recipe. I can’t stress enough how award winning this is but only if you like smokey, spicy cheddar.

And the sweet & savory sausage was perfect for this dish. As a lazy person trust me when I say it’s completely worth going the extra mile to make seitan sausage with this.

Vegan Seitan Sausage Mac Cheese - Smokey Cheddar Cheesy Dip - 3 Vegan Pasta & "Meat" Dishes - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Seitan Sausage:
1/4 cup gluten flour (30 grams), 1 TB chickpea flour (6 grams), 1 TB brown sugar (10 grams), tons of ground fennel (optional), 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts garlic powder, 1/4 ts chipotle powder, 1 TB tomato sauce, 1 ts oil, 1/4 ts salt (or less), 2 TB water (+ more if needed)

  1. Mix all of the dry ingredients together. Then mix in tomato sauce, oil and water. Add more water if the mixture is dry. Add more gluten flour if mixture is wet. Mixture should be firm (not wet or dry)
  2. Roll dough into foil and twist the ends. Steam for 40 minutes.

Vegan Smokey Cheddar Cheesy Sauce:
2 med potatoes peeled & chopped (330 grams), 150 grams baby carrots, water, 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts garlic powder, juice from 1 lime, 3 TB nutritional flakes, 3 TB oil, 1/2 small can of chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (add slowly! This can get spicy fast!), salt

  1. Boil potatoes and carrots til soft (about 25 minutes). Let cool for a few minutes then add to the blender.
  2. Add everything else to the blender. Use the least amount of water because you’ll want this on the thicker side. Add small amounts of chipotle pepper at a time. Blend and taste to see if it’s spicy enough.
  3. Once sauce is ready pour over pasta and mix in chopped vegan sausage. ENJOY
13 thoughts on “3 Vegan Pasta & “Meat” Dishes

  1. I’m totally going to try that cream sauce! I’ve been looking for a vegan version that didn’t involve cashews (no high speed blender for moi), and this looks amazballs! Inspiring video (and music) as always 😀 Thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Shielagh and commented:
    Okay, the Rich Bitch has done it again. Making me feel like making (okay, eating) vegan sausages and cheesy sauce before I’ve even had breakfast! These recipes are always worth making. And even if you aren’t vegan, and I must admit I do eat dairy and eggs nowadays, these plant-based recipes are better for our health, for the planet and for the animals themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay, you’ve hooked me yet again! thanks for taking the time to blog about your cooking, and I believe your written descriptions and comments are as persuasive as your photos and videos. I hope more people are reading these posts, watching your videos and trying your yummy recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Potato cheese sauce with adobo? Count me in! I own a ‘fancy high speed blender’ that is bordering on the vintage. I have a really old Vitamix that I had to order from over the other side of the country at the time as no-one had any idea what they were. That was 11 years ago and it is still going strong (watch it break down now that I just said that 😉 ) so this is completely in the realms of my possibilities. Where do you come up with these magnificent ideas?! Sharing the heck all over the place. You deserve to go viral (in the nicest possible way 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

      1. So do I (Pinterest). I trawl it like a biotch and have an extensive list of incredible finds from all over the world. Just because I can’t understand it, doesn’t mean that a quick click of Google Translate can’t help. We must be the queens of Pinterest ‘Garage Sale’ veganism 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. oh my god! that’s so great. Have you made any interesting finds from pinterest? The way you described digging through pinterest sounds like how my husband digs for music.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have found some amazing recipes and techniques using Pinterest and follow some truly experimental blogs and websites now in my RSS Feed Reader. I collect recipes as my passion and have a huge range of awesomeness. My husband went vegan back in December and now I can make ALL of the things. That’s how I found your awesome blog, I was trawling for ‘seitan’ as it’s his new favourite. Is your husband a musician? Trawling the depths of the internet for music and recipes have to be some of the most satisfying endeavours these troubled days. It’s almost like a ‘EUREKA!’ moment to find either of them and you have to fight your way through a tonne of mediocrity just to find one tiny gem but when you do, it’s like winning the lottery. That’s how I felt when I found your site the other day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You sound like the way I think my husband feels. He’s a quiet guy so he’s never said that but that how I imagine he feels when he’s digging through music online or in person.

        When he finds special or rare music the look of winning the lottery fills his eyes ❤

        Mark makes music but is still the the baby stage of his musical endeavors.

        I wish I could gold mine like that because whenever he finds good random music it reminds me how much I'm missing outside of my box. I'm lazy creature of habit so my world can get pretty predictable.

        Finding experimental blogs sounds AMAZING! I usually dig through pinterest and if the photos look good I just kind of guess how I would make it. Then I'll click on the blog, half ass read the recipe then start filming with a pound of anxiety because I have no idea what I'm doing. I seriously feel random just talking about it. ha ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Random, in this case, is entirely excellent. The baby stages are where you learn the most. My husband plays guitar and has been doing it for most of his life. I think you find your groove and tend to stick to it after a while where while you are just beginning, you get this awesome ability to seek out whatever the hell you like and muck around with it. Steve (my husband) was into punk as a kid, goth music (HUGE Sisters of Mercy and Clash fan) and dragged me kicking and screaming into Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd. You need to experiment and learn constantly or you set like concrete. I, too, am a lazy bollocks but I tend to call myself a magpie these days. I cherry pick the good stuff from other peoples hard Pinterest shares. Glad to meet a fellow magpie on the other side of the world 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

