6 Ways To Flavor & Cook Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Breaded Chick'n Tofu Nuggets, Baked Crispy Teriyaki tofu, Vegan Tofu Scramble, Korean Tofu

6 Ways To Flavor & Cook Tofu

6 Ways To Flavor & Cook Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Breaded Chick'n Tofu Nuggets, Baked Crispy Teriyaki tofu, Vegan Tofu Scramble, Korean Tofu

I love tofu! Sadly tofu doesn’t love me back. I used to eat a bunch of soy products. After finding out I was allergic to them it took me a while to really avoid them. I really didn’t want to let them go. After years of avoiding soy 99% of the time I got used to it being gone. Now I enjoy soy sauce in the different sauces but you’ll rarely see me use soy products like tofu in my recipes for that reason. So Mark will enjoy this post. Luck him!

All of these recipes I pressed a small amount of water out with a couple paper towels. You could say I was lazy about it as shown in the video below.

Vegan Grilled Chick'n Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Tofu Chicken
I watched a video on how to make tofu look and taste like chicken. Her trick is pretty much “slow and steady” on the stove top. She says we’ll be temped to turn the heat up to make the processes go faster but insists not to do it. I am glad she said that. Her process takes 15 minutes on medium heat and she often goes an additional 5 minutes on low heat to get the ultimate crispy bits to form from the tofu.

After 15 minutes I turned the heat up slightly. Mine took longer to crisp up.

Vegan Grilled Chick'n Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blogcube of tofu (I used extra firm), spray oil, salt, pepper, sprinkle of spices (garlic, onion, poultry spices)

  1. Spray your pan and put on med heat
  2. Break tofu into large pieces then break those into smaller pieces
  3. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and spices
  4. Slowly allow the heat to cook all the moisture out of the tofu. Stir along the way. Could take more than 15 minutes to crispy the outside of each piece of tofu. Done. ENJOY

Inspired by Jenns Weight Loss Journey Youtube Video

Vegan Korean Tofu - Dubu Jorim - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog
Vegan Korean Tofu (Dubu Jorim)
Looks spicy but wasn’t to our surprise! The thing that makes this red is the Korean red pepper flakes. They’re different from the red pepper flakes I’m used to. She wrote a whole post on how to pick the right bag out from the Asian store since it can be a little confusing. I’m so pumped that we have a new spice in our life. And that it’s such a beautiful color!

Hmmmm, ours wasn’t spicy so I’m wondering if we bought the wrong one? Either way it’s good!

Vegan Korean Tofu - Dubu Jorim - Rich Bitch Cooking Blogcube of tofu (I used extra firm), 1/4 onion, 1 garlic clove, green onion, oil, 1/2 cup water, 1 TB soy sauce, 1 TB chili flakes (this kind from your Asian store), 1 ts sugar

(garnish: sesame seed oil, sesame seed, green onion)

  1. Chop tofu into thin squares. I accidentally crumbled a few of mine so be gentle. Fry in skillet in a few TB oil for 7-8 minutes on each side (or until golden). I used med to med/high heat.
  2. Chop onion, green onion and garlic
  3. In a bowl mix 1/2 cup water with 1 TB soy sauce, 1 TB chili flakes & 1 ts sugar
  4. Once tofu is golden on both sides remove from heat
  5. In a smaller pan saute onion, garlic and green onion til golden. Add sauce to the veggies. Simmer to thicken. Once sauce reduces down it’s done.
  6. Add tofu to sauce. Garnish with dash of sesame seed oil, sesame seeds and green onion. ENJOY

Inspired by Maangchi

Vegan Teriyaki Baked Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog
Vegan Teriyaki Baked Tofu
This is simple and awesome. I didn’t add additional teriyaki sauce once it was cooked because I ran out. Feel free to top with more sauce. I LOVE this texture!!! There’s nothing else like baked tofu ❤ Feel free to use any sauce (BBQ, buffalo, balsamic vinaigrette, etc) Throw in some rice and broccoli or  easy vegan lo mein!!!. <— heaven!

Vegan Teriyaki Baked Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Cube of tofu (I used extra firm), bottle of teriyaki (or whatever)

  1. Cube tofu
  2. Pour teriyaki in the bottom of the tofu container. Add tofu cubes back in while coating with sauce.
  3. Let sit 24 or less
  4. After marinating bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes or until you get a desired texture. I did 350 degrees but thought 400 would have been better. Flip half way through.
  5. You can add additional sauce while it’s baking or right before serving. ENJOY

Inspired by The Big Mans World

Vegan Thai Almond Butter Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Thai Almond Butter Tofu
Yay! I LOVE thai almond butter. It’s pretty much peanut sauce. The picture kind of looks strange because I sprinkled some red pepper on top. This isn’t a red dish it’s just my random ass garnish. You could totally add this to our Vegan Almond Butter Noodles.

Vegan Thai Almond Butter Tofu - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

cube of tofu (I used extra firm), 1 TB sesame seed oil, 2 TB almond butter, 1/2 lime, 1-2 TB soy sauce, fresh ginger, 1 TB agave, water,

  1. Cube tofu and bake (plain) at 400 degrees til semi poofy/crispy (about 30 minutes)
  2. In a pot or bowl mix 2 TB almond butter (I used super thick almond butter)
  3. Mix with a half a lime, 1-2 TB soy sauce, finely grated ginger & 1 TB sweetener (I used agave)
  4. You can add water to thin it out but even a TB  of water can take it from too thick to too thin so add slowly
  5. Taste to make sure it’s sweet, salty and soy saucy enough. Mix in tofu. ENJOY

Inspired by Minimalist Baker

Vegan Crispy Breaded Tofu Nuggets - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Crispy Breaded Tofu Nuggets
Even though I didn’t marinate the tofu I didn’t find this bland. I love Italian bread crumbs and Whole Foods brand is vegan. They’re flavorful enough to get the job done. Super, duper easy recipe right here. Dude serve these with one of these 10 ways to cook vegan potato recipes.

Vegan Crispy Breaded Tofu Nuggets - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

cube of tofu (I used extra firm), maybe 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs (or plain with spices added)

  1. Coat cookie sheet with oil. I wanted layer of oil thicker than spray oil so used real oil instead.
  2. Slice tofu and dip in bread crumbs
  3. Bake til crispy. I did 400 degrees for about 40 minutes or so. I flipped them once about 20 minutes in. ENJOY

Vegan Tofu Scrambled Eggs - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Tofu Scrambled Eggs
What I would give to eat scrambled tofu every day. Tears….. oh well. I didn’t think to do this in the video but ADD SOME VEGAN BUTTER on top of the cooked scramble after it’s done ❤ OMG <— freak genius.

Serve with this Vegan American Breakfast (instead of the chickpea flour scramble)

Vegan Tofu Scrambled Eggs - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

1/2 cube of tofu (I used extra firm), oil or vegan butter!!!, salt, pepper, onion & garlic powder, turmeric

  1. Heat up oil or vegan butter
  2. Add tofu and crumble into small pieces
  3. Add spices
  4. Top with a tiny amount of vegan butter (fuck I should have done this!). ENJOY
21 thoughts on “6 Ways To Flavor & Cook Tofu

      1. I can get graphic if you want to know what it does to me ❤ Peanut butter too. 🙂

        Well I did eat some peanut butter cookies the other day and didn't notice "the issue". And I don't notice the issue with soy sauce. Odd so I don't know what to make of that. Maybe it's in small volumes it's cool?

        Dude I wish I could eat tofu. The texture is HEAVEN. The flavor and way it can be flavored….AHHHHH And it's cheap!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I get the picture, no need for graphics! 😉 Maybe because soy is fermented you don’t have those gut problems? Can you eat Burmese tofu and other beans? Maybe you could get all experimental on tofu’s arse and have a go at setting black beans etc. as tofu? I have seen a few recipes online for black bean tofu and I know that there is at least one company in the U.S. that makes several different kind of bean tofu. We use tofu a lot. I make awesome sausage rolls with tofu and wheat gluten flour and tonnes of veggies. I am sorry for your loss…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I just found this! I reckon you could adapt it to black or other beans as well but this result looks quite exciting and more like silken tofu than polenta (which is what Burmese tofu looks like).

        Liked by 1 person

      4. So I made it and couldn’t put my figure on what it reminded me of. POLENTA! you totally called it! I’ll check out that video!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Garbanzo Tofu by Peaceful Cuisine. Just look for Peaceful Cuisine and subscribe. Trust me, it’s worth it! I am currently huddled over a recipe for black sesame ice cream and all of his recipes are vegan…”SCORE!”

        Liked by 1 person

      6. oh yeah. I found his videos a few weeks back and was like Holy Crap! dude his videos are stunning! And I agree that polenta isn’t tofu. ha ha ha. I love his kitchen. I love the asmr semi silent ones. So peaceful just like the name suggests!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I am getting double from these videos as his filming techniques are stunning and he uses the same camera that we use. Did you check out his garbanzo tofu recipe? It looks more like silken tofu. Have you ever had almond tofu? Looks a bit like that. I think it’s the starch. I think you could make ‘tofu’ out of anything really if you set it with starch 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I have seen that. Besides the chickpea tofu I made the same day I sent you that video link I have not had any other tofu. I want extra firm tofu 🙂
        The visuals from his videos are very inspiring ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

