3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

3 Vegan Unicorn & Rainbow Treats

3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

Here are 3 dazzling snacks. You could use these for a fairy, unicorn rainbow party. I did go a bit heavy handed on the food dye. This was my first time using food dye and it’s absolutely addicting. I bought the 12 pack from the hobby store with all sorts of magical colors. I also bought some “all natural” food dye from the internet but still haven’t tried them yet. Part of me wonders how pretty these would have looked had I went more pastel which was my intention.

Vegan Unicorn Chex Mix - 3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

Vegan Unicorn Chex Mix
I LOVE frosting let the mixture cool before adding sprinkles on top so that the sprinkles do not melt. I put my chex mix in the fridge for 10 minutes and the frosting was so cooled that the sprinkles didn’t stick as well I had imagined. I’m sure there’s a middle ground for the sprinkles situation.

Vegan Unicorn Chex Mix - 3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

1 cup cereal (54 grams), 4 TB vegan frosting frost (70 grams)

  1. Pour cereal in mixing bowl
  2. Microwave frosting for 30 seconds
  3. Mix melted frosting and cereal, lay on baking tray to cool
  4. Once mini-cooled add sprinkles. ENJOY

Inspired by Fitful Focus

Vegan Unicorn Rainbow Pop Tarts - 3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

Vegan Unicorn Rainbow Pop Tarts
Yay! I baked successfully! This was a quarter of the original recipe. I don’t need a huge batch of pop tarts. I will admit that these didn’t come out flawless. Definitely the least professional looking thing out of the three recipes here. But these tasted so good. I wonder if I over cooked mine. They came out a bit crunchy but the flavor was so sweet and buttery. I’ve got to makes these again. *I didn’t add a dash of salt since I used salted vegan butter.

Vegan Unicorn Rainbow Pop Tarts - 3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

Pop tarts: 2/3 cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp sugar, 1/4 cup cold unsalted vegan butter, cut into cubes, 1/16 – 1/8 cup cold water, food dye (pink, yellow, orange, green, blue purple), jelly, icing or frosting, sprinkles
Icing: 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1-2 TB almond milk
  1. Mix flour, sugar and salt together
  2. Add cubed up vegan butter to the dry ingredients. With a fork smash all the vegan butter into the flour. When the vegan butter is small pieces through out the mixture add in water.
  3. Mix in the water. It may feel dry but kneed the mixture until it holds together.
  4. Divide mixture into 6 balls of dough. Mix dye into each ball of dough.
  5. Flatten each ball and stack the flatten dough on each other. Now roll a ball to make the dough look kind of tie dye. Fridge for an hour.
  6. Roll chilled mixture out into a thin sheet. Cut into desired pop tart sizes.
  7. Put the tiniest amount jelly in the middle of the bottom piece of dough. Top with the upper piece and mash the edges together with a fork. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.
  8. Let pop tarts cool then add icing or frosting & sprinkles. To make icing mix 1/2 cup powdered sugar with 1 or 2 TB almond milk. ENJOY

Inspired by Taste Made

Vegan Unicorn Rainbow Donuts - 3 Vegan Unicorn + Rainbow Treats, Desserts, Party Snacks - Donuts, Sweet Chex Mix, Pop Tarts - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog - Dairy Free

Vegan Rainbow Donuts
While making vegan unicorn pop tarts it dawned on me that I really needed to make vegan rainbow doughnuts. My pop tarts weren’t perfect but the vegan donut recipe I use is hella easy. Remember my 6 Vegan Donuts recipe? All different kinds of toppings to dazzle your friends and family. But here the magic is in the rainbow. I had no idea how much food dye I was suppose to use. I knew a little went a long way but I’m pretty sure I went heavy handed. I kind of wish these looked pastel and whimsical but once you add the icing these look killer! ❤

*if you thin out icing with a few extra drops of almond milk you’ll be able to see the donut colors through it.

**Swirl the batter as you place it in the trays if you want more of a blended look. The two doughnuts at the bottom of the picture are upside down and show off the swirl. The top side was a mix of swirl and color block design because I didn’t mix the bottom part of the tray as well as I did the side closest to me. Make sense?

Vegan Rainbow Donuts - Unicorn Doughnuts - Party, Breakfast, Snacks, Treats - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Donut Recipe:
1 cup flour (180 grams), 1/4 cup sugar (76 grams), 1/2 t baking powder, 1/4 cup oil, 3/4 cup water or almond milk, food dye (pink, yellow, orange, green, blue, purple), sprinkles

Vegan Icing Recipe:
90 grams powdered sugar (about 3/4 cup) & 1 TB almond milk

  1. Mix everything together
  2. Pour batter into 6 different bowl. Add a tiny amount of dye to each bowl.
  3. Bake on greased donut. Layer different colors of batter on the donut tray and swirl the colors around.
  4. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes
  5. Once cool mix powdered sugar with almond milk. Add more sugar if too thin, add more almond milk if icing is not thin enough.
  6. Dip donuts then add sprinkles. ENJOY

5 thoughts on “3 Vegan Unicorn & Rainbow Treats

    1. Awesome! Thanks for the inspiration. I would not have made this post had I not seen your Unicorn chex mix!

      Like

  1. MY EYES!!! I have been studiously ignoring the ‘unicorn’ trend that has enveloped crafting and food and that appears to be wanting to take over the world but now that you have shown me how brilliant (pun fully intended) it can be, I might just have to have a go at those donuts…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment