4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes

4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - Seitan - Buffalo Wings, Spicy Chicken Sandwich, Chinese Food, Parmesan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

This was my first time making seitan. Then I deep fried it!!!! Hands down the most filling meals I’ve had in I don’t know how long. I’m talking filling on another plane of existences. No matter how much protein in a meal, how large my bowl of cooked veggies or any other meal that I can think of compares to this.

AND!!!!!!!!!!

The macros to gluten flour are pretty close to chicken breast. There’s a tiny amount of carbs but for real. 120 calories of wheat gluten has 23 gram of protein. SAY WHAT?! 4 grams carbs & zero fat (before we fried it). The macros alone pretty much have me sold.

High fucking vegan protein. This isn’t like the exaggerated vegan protein lists that float around the internet. This is for real.

TIP:
#1: taste the flour mixture before rolling your seitan in it. Since the flour will become the breading you’ll want to make sure it’s salty and seasoned to your liking. Just dab your finger in the flour mixture & taste it. You’ll notice right away if it’s bland or flavorful.
#2 For the most part making seitan is simply mixing equal parts spiced gluten flour to liquid (then bake or boil it). Now I’ve seen it recommended to use slightly less liquid for firmer texture.

Let me know if you have any seitan making tips. Definitely seems like an art.

Vegan Spicy Fried Chicken Sandwich - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Spicy Fried Chicken Sandwich
I kept adding spices but I could not taste the heat. Maybe someone more sensitive to heat would have. I should have added cayenne but didn’t. My brain insisted but I resisted. This was an EPIC sandwich. And the hot sauce vegan mayo was addicting. I kept saying that I didn’t need to eat all of the bread but once it soaked up the sauce I couldn’t let go.

Also the fact that it was one single patty makes is an ultra streamlined process. This was so much faster than rolling and dipping a bunch of small nuggets.

This recipe makes one huge vegan chicken patty. Here’s a great recipe from EdgyVeg that inspired this.

Vegan Spicy Fried Chicken Sandwich - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

6 TB gluten flour (64 grams), 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts poultry herbs, 1/4 ts salt,  1 TB tahini, 1 TB hot sauce, 3 TB vegan chicken broth, water, vegan eggs, hot sauce, 6 TB flour with 1/8 ts garlic powder, 1/4 onion powder, 1 ts paprika, salt and chipotle powder or cayenne, oil for frying + vegan spicy sauce (mix hot sauce with vegan mayo)

  1. Mix: 6 TB gluten flour (64 grams), 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts poultry herbs, 1/4 ts salt
  2. Mix in different bowl: 1 TB tahini, 1 TB hot sauce, 3 TB vegan chicken broth
  3. Combine line 1 & 2 to make your veggie patty dough. Knead dough for a minute.
  4. Boil veggie patty covered in water or broth for about an hour. Then set aside to cool and press with a paper towel to remove excess water.
  5. Make vegan egg: 1.5 TB vegan egg powder (I used follow your heart) with about 1/2 cup cold water. Add water slowly, you may not need it all or you may need extra. Add enough cold water til it’s a thick batter. Add hot sauce to thin it out and maybe some more cold water. I thought it was easier to use when on the thinner side.
  6. Make flour mixture for breading: 6 TB flour with 1/8 ts garlic powder, 1/4 onion powder, 1 ts paprika, salt and chipotle powder or cayenne. Mix and taste. Add more flavors or salt if needed.
  7. Coat gluten patty with flour mixture then dip in vegan egg mixture. Allow excess to drip off then put back in the flour mixture.
  8. Fry patty: heat oil to high/med-high heat and fry to golden brown & crispy. ENJOY

Vegan Buffalo Wings - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Buffalo Wings
I love hot sauce so by extension buffalo sauce is legit. While these were amazing I would dip these in buffalo sauce next time instead of coating them. Yeah that’s nerdy but I’d rather have super crispy breading than semi soggy. The amount of salt in that sauce is freaking addicting.

Vegan Buffalo Wings - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan General Tso's Chicken - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan General Tso’s Chicken
So I made a vegan Kung Pao sauce that I am 100% obsessed with. I’m in love with it to the point where I really wish I could buy a bottle that tastes exactly like mine. Dude, I’m really too lazy to make it every time I crave it. I tried buying some at the store but they had stupid amounts of sodium in them. Pet peeve: having an unquenchable thirst that keeps me up at night.

I bought this general tso’s sauce at aldi’s on a whim. The label showed the salt was totally humble and the ingredients showed all the flavors I love together. Sadly the sauce wasn’t up to my high horse standards. Long story short I gave this bowl of asian chick’n to Mark and dipped my half of plan fried nuggets in BBQ sauce. It was soooooooooooooo good. I really wanted to use orange sauce but didn’t get to the store in time. Mark liked the general Tso’s chick’n better than the vegan buffalo wings.

Vegan General Tso's Chicken - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

The recipe I used to makes a massive portion of seitan. Half was turned into nuggets and the other half turned in “wings”. Essentially this recipe made 2 portions of wings and 2 portions of Asian nuggets. Really a ton of food. Feel free to cut the recipe in half or follow the general measurements below for the Vegan Chick’n Parmesan recipe if you just want to make a single portion.

HUGE RECIPE FOR BOTH WINGS & ASIAN NUGGETS:

1.5 cups gluten flour (not packed, 180 grams), 2 ts onion powder, sprinkle garlic powder, 1 ts poultry herbs, 1 ts salt, 3 TB tahini, vegan chick’n broth (or water), 6 TB vegan egg powder (46 grams), 1.5 cups cold water (or more) for egg powder, 2 cups flour, 1 ts cornstarch, 1/2 ts garlic powder, 1/2 ts onion powder, 1 ts salt, 4 TB buffalo sauce, 4 TB Asian sauce (and/or any other sauce)

  1. Mix: 1.5 cups gluten flour (not packed, 180 grams), 2 ts onion powder, sprinkle garlic powder, 1 ts poultry herbs, 1 ts salt in a bowl
  2. Add 3 TB tahini to a measuring cup. On top of the tahini add veggie broth or water til it reaches the 1.25 cup mark. Mix together.
  3. Add liquid for line 2 to dry ingredients on line 1. Add more water to your dough if it feels to stiff. Knead dough for a minute.
  4. Divide dough in half. Pull one half into small balls and the other half into wing shapes. These will double in size so make them small!
  5. Cover with water or broth. Boil for an hour. Once cooked lay them on a paper towel lined cookie sheet to cool.
  6. Make vegan eggs as directed. Make sure the egg batter is on the thinner side so maybe a little extra water.
  7. Make flour mixture: Mix 2 cups flour, 1 ts cornstarch, 1/2 ts garlic powder, 1/2 ts onion powder and 1 ts salt in a bowl.
  8. Dip nuggets and wings into flour then vegan egg batter then back into flour. Fry on high/med-high until golden brown. Fry in small batches.
  9. Once cooked mix each piece with desired sauce. ENJOY

Vegan Chicken Parmesan - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

Vegan Chicken Parmesan
I was almost sad that I only made one portion of this. So good! As you’ll see this is pretty much the same recipe as repeated above but with way less work. Ah, I’m ready for more.

Vegan Chicken Parmesan - 4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes - High Protein Seitan - Wheat Meat - Soy Free - Rich Bitch Cooking Blog

6 TB gluten flour, 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts poultry herbs, 1/4 ts salt, 1 TB tahini, 5 TB vegan chick’n broth or water, 1 vegan egg, 6 TB flour, 1/4 onion powder, 1/4 garlic powder, 1/4 salt, pasta, pasta sauce, vegan cheese (I used daiya), 1 brazil nut (for “parmesan”)

  1. Mix: 6 TB gluten flour, 1/2 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts poultry herbs, 1/4 ts salt
  2. Mix in a different bowl: 1 TB tahini, 5 TB vegan chick’n broth or water
  3. Combined line 1 & 2 til you have seitan dough. Knead dough for a minute.
  4. Cover with water or broth. Boil for an hour. Once done use a paper towel to press some extra water out of the patty. Set aside to cool.
  5. Make vegan egg as directed. Use a little extra water to make egg batter on the thinner side.
  6. Make flour mixture:  6 TB flour, 1/4 onion powder, 1/4 garlic powder, 1/4 salt
  7. Dip seitan patty into flour then vegan egg batter then flour again. Fry on high/med-high heat til golden brown.
  8. Serve with pasta, sauce and vegan cheese. I melted my daiya slice in the oven on the broil setting. Grate brazil nut finely for the parmesan. ENJOY

 

29 thoughts on “4 Vegan Fried Chicken Recipes

  1. This looks amazing. I’ve never made seitan before. It’s not a popular meat replacer in the UK. It tends to be soya based here, but I really want to try this. I love your youtube channel by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m lovin the looks of that chickn parm! And what a great idea of the brazil nut! I never tried them before but i’ve seen them in the market.. Does it taste cheesy at all?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, sadly, they don’t have a cheesy taste but I thought it looked mega fancy! But the vegan chz on the parm totally brings it. I think brazil nuts kind of taste like dirt. 😀 If you’re not taking pictures and trying to dazzle anyone you could totally skip the brazil nut since it doesn’t add much as far as flavor. But it looks so pretty!!!

      Like

  3. They all look great and doable, and they do not contain that “vegan chicken” substitute. I really want to know if there can be a substitute for the vegan egg. Coconut milk maybe? Or just plain olive oil? Please tell me what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What’s “vegan chicken” substitute?

      As far as not using egg goes I did see a bunch of videos of folks who wouldn’t use any kind of “eggs”. Folks would take the seitan directly out of the boiling water, roll it into flour then fry it. They didn’t cool it or try to dry it off or anything. Their final product looked great so I’m guessing it would work.

      Just know that oil and water doesn’t mix so by not cooling/drying seitan before throwing it in hot oil the oil may pop more so just be careful. Feel free to let me know how it goes!

      Like

      1. Thank you very much for responding! By “vegan chicken” substitute I mean those Beyond Meat etc kind of products, that are not easy to find over here, and often a bit pricey.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m living in China, so gluten flour is hard to come by without waiting months for it to be delivered from home. Do you think I could alter the recipe to accommodate regular flour, or do you have any ideas for substitutes? These recipes look great, so I really hope I can try them out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gluten flour is it’s own kind of thing so I think there’s pretty much two options.

      #1 you could make your own gluten flour. Here’s random video showing you how: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1onkaTvwPw

      #2 you could just bread and fry other things like tofu patties or veggie patties.

      I would highly recommend buying some gluten flour and just gifting your future self some!

      Let me know if you need more ideas!

      Like

  5. I have had mixed results from making seitan. Up until I found this recipe… http://www.veganmagictime.com/2016/01/lets-get-started.html I was never really very happy with the texture of the seitan that I had been making. I am going to give your recipes a go and see how they compare. I deviated from the veganmagictime version to make a recipe I saw on Facebook and it was horrible. Tough as old boots! Seitan is excellent at its very best and hideous at its worst. I reckon yours is up there at the top. Delish 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I did some commercial cooking training and worked in the industry for quite a while so I appreciate good vegan recipes for faux meats etc. I found a really excellent recipe for mince (I think you call it ground beef?) with firm tofu and smoked paprika and soy sauce and a few other things that is truly excellent and I paired it with some really good homemade tomato sauce with mushrooms and capsicums (bell peppers) and lots of garlic and another recipe for a herbed vegan cheese that I found on Youtube. The cheese was meant to be set but I figured if you didn’t add the agar agar that it would sub for a halfway decent ‘cheese’ sauce for the lasagna and it turned out to be bang on in flavour and texture. I love hunting out recipes online and combining them to get the best and most delicious alternative to the original recipe that I can. Your seitan ‘chook’ (Aussie for chicken) looks the biz 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I think the boiled seitan here may be more to your liking than my plan seitan that I’ve been adding to the meal preps.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Have you tried the VeganMagicTime seitan? I think it’s based on Isa Chandra’s recipe with a bit of tweaking and it’s a really decent faux meat. Not being able to access all of the faux meat etc. products that you guys have in the U.S. and having to feed a husband who is a bit fussy and who only went vegan back in December last year means that I need to have solid subs for some of his favourite foods and I have been able to find some really excellent recipes online that truly enterprising vegan cooks have shared gratis. That seitan recipe is one of those “lottery win” moments for me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I *need* to try that recipe.

        I never buy faux meat unless it’s for a recipe video. I used to eat them regularly but I’ve been doing better about limiting my soy intake since I have an allergy to it. I do use soy sauce but tofu or faux meat can do some stuff to me that is “TMI”. ha ha ha. So I’ve grown accustom to not buying them. I wish I could eat tofu though. I love the texture! and it’s cheap over here.

        But this new introduction to making seitan is blowing my mind! I’m in love! I need to master it as soon as I stop being lazy about it.

        Maybe never (lazy for life) 😦
        ha ha ha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. The good thing about that recipe is that it is easy peasy. Most of the time is spent waiting for the seitan to simmer and the end results are delish. I add all kinds of things to the simmering broth and I keep the broth and freeze it so it’s now almost a ‘mother broth’. I am lazy as well. If a recipe takes too long for the end results I shelve it. This one is a keeper and Steve loves it. I made vegan sausages out of it the other week and we had ‘Bangers and mash’, as Steve is from the U.K., with some amazing onion and mushroom gravy and as penniless hippy students, we don’t have to pay for faux meaty products, we can make our own that likely tastes better and that we can customise to our own tastes. Sorry you can’t have tofu. That tofu mince is amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I really do need to make that recipe! All this mention of tofu makes me want to eat some since it’s been a while! Threw caution to the wind ❤

        I love that you said "mother broth". That's so true. ha ha ha

        So you guys are students now?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. We have a bohemian (male) mate who lives down the road. I would like to think of him as a modern day Errol Flynn (who was also born and raised in Tasmania) who has a house full to the brim with antiques and who lives a most interesting life. That’s the subject of my documentary and Steve’s is based on the state of the college where we study and how the government is chipping away funding in an attempt to dissolve cheaper public education and to make the user pay so he has interviewed two of our ex lecturers on the subject. One retired yesterday and told it like it was, the other one had to be a bit more tight lipped as he is still employed there and hopes to be so into the future. There’s a whole lot that goes on behind the scenes and stuffing all of the recording, lighting and camera action into a small teachers cubicle to interview them required you to be somewhat athletic and it would probably be best if I brush up on my calisthenics for the next time we do it so that I can stand on one leg and take up less space 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment